History of Leadership

Mohave Community College was established in 1971, became part of the Arizona Community College System in 1974 and was first accredited by the North Central Association of Schools and Colleges in 1981.

MCC’s leadership began with the initiatives of the first governing board: Dr. Walter Brazie, Gordon McKellips, Tom Schrimsher, E.J. McCarthy and Dr. Lawrence. These founding members selected Dr. Keith West to be MCC’s first president (1971-1984).

In 1984 Dr. Charles Hall was selected to serve as MCC’s second president. He served until 1997, when Michael Tacha succeeded him and served until June of 2002.

Dr. Thomas C. Henry took over in July of 2002. He served through October of 2007.

Michael J. Kearns, the current president, took his post on November 1, 2007. Kearns received his doctor of dental surgery from Case Western Reserve University Dental School, his masters of business administration from Cleveland State University, and his bachelor of science degree from John Carroll University. Following 24 years in private practice, Dr. Kearns accepted the position of founding director of the MCC Dental Hygiene program. He was later advanced to dean of the Bullhead City Campus of MCC, and then to vice chancellor of instruction for MCC. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Western Arizona Regional Medical Center in Bullhead City and was appointed to the Commission for Communication and Marketing of the American Association of Community Colleges. See current administration.
Dr. Keith West
Michael Tacha
Dr. Michael J. Kearns
Dr. Charles Hall
Dr. Thomas C. Henry